And the winner is …

Thanks, everyone, for weighing in on the bin pull designs last month!  The responses were fairly even in favor of each, but I appreciate all your comments because you made me think. Here are the two candidates: the plain bin pull and the reed-and-ribbon design:

binpullreed and ribbon bin pull

After much shilly-shallying, I decided that the reed-and-ribbon pull, while attractive, and while it absolutely would look nice, just wasn’t the right design for our kitchen. My heart was temporarily dazzled by its pretty, classic design, but my brain knew I would regret not staying true the house’s simple 1913 soul. And then, unexpectedly, I rejected the plain bin pull, too—the design I’d idealized for years. Suddenly it just looked too large and dominant, with too much brushed nickel, and too modern for the many spots in our kitchen in which it will appear. (We’re going to have a lot of drawers.)

So I buried my nose in my Craftsman design books, determined to fall in love again. And I did. Here he is, Top Knobs’ Asbury bin pull (seen here nearly life-size):

bin pull 3I ordered them from MyKnobs.com, and they are perfect. Nice and hefty with a beautiful finish. Now I have the vintage design I need, not too big or too fancy, with just the right spark of brushed nickel to tie in with the rest of the kitchen’s metal finishes. I can’t wait to actually install them on something … but the drawer and door fronts are in the paint room this weekend, waiting for that lazy painter to shake a leg!

More Artifacts!

Time for a little show and tell. Our electrician, Casey, was at the house last week, prepping to install several hundred (at least!) outlets for our electrification. He rewired a basement circuit that had not one, not two, but three switches to isolate the furnace. He eliminated one of them—this beauty, patented (and probably installed) in 1917.

switch 1

On the back of one of the old kitchen drawers (which is now sitting, still full of silverware, on the bed in our spare bedroom) I noticed this tag.

woodwork tag

Eric did a quick online search and discovered that, according to The Timberman (an industry journal “Devoted to the Lumber Interests of the Pacific Coast”) of Sept. 1912, Interior Finish Manufacturing Company incorporated with a capital stock of $8000 in 1912, the year before our house was built. We assume Lipscomb and Reeves was the builder who did our kitchen’s 1940s remodel. The drawers have the unadorned fronts and rounded edges popular in the 40s and 50s. I had thought these were homemade cabinets, but I was wrong!

We are still waiting to find a bundle of money in a wall, but in the meantime, this stuff is fun to collect.

19132013new

2 thoughts on “And the winner is …

  1. cathy

    The one you chose is indeed perfect, D’Arcy. Discovering the artifacts makes this whole remodel a bit more fun. I love the address of Lipscomb and Reeves – east end of the 11th Street Bridge. Guess the expectation is that everyone knew east from west back then :)) This bridge is the one that was damaged by a boat in the late 1990’s when it was in the raised position. Norm Dicks made a deal with Weyerhauser so it would remain upright (unfixed!)and log boats could navigate the waterway easier. Only reason I know that is because this bridge is close to my house.

    Reply
    1. D'Arcy H Post author

      We used to drive across the 11th St. Bridge all the time when I was a kid. Coming home from the marina where my folks moored our boat, we’d cross the bridge and then climb up, up, up the hill. Once you hit a green light, they were green all the way to the top! It’s sad to see the bridge stuck up in the air and unusable. It’s such a historic piece of Tacoma. Whoa–just looked at a 2013 image on Google Maps, and it looks like it’s shrouded in white plastic and the approaches are being rebuilt! What’s going on?
      D’

      Reply

Don't be shy! Leave a comment--I'd love to hear from you!

