Skip to content

When good cabinets go bad

February 4, 2014

We’re getting so close to the finish line! Some days I feel like if we stopped now, I could live with it. Of course, that’s crazy—I still have to finish Mother Hubbard’s transformation, tile the backsplash, and paint the doors and trim. And when all is done, there will be a few things I need to touch up.

This past week, Eric finished the narrow bank of drawers between the stove and the fridge. Because the space is so narrow, the drawers overlap the frame, and are not inset like the rest of the kitchen. It looks a little odd to me, but if we’d included side stiles, the drawers would be too narrow to be of much use. I am happy that I now have someplace to store equipment that I use at the stove, barbecue tools, kitchen towels, and long rolls of foil and plastic wrap.

open drawers

BUT … somewhere along the line, this cabinet took a wrong turn, fell in with a tough crowd, and allowed itself to be skewed. Our countertop installer mentioned that it was slightly warped on one side, and sure enough, we could see the left side was a little cupped. Hmm … Well, no one will see that when the cabinet is snuggled in between the stove and fridge. Eric attached the face frames and the drawer glides, screwed the pulls onto the drawer fronts, and attached the fronts to the drawer boxes.

What the hell?? The top drawer tilts down ever-so-slightly to the right. The second drawer tilts a bit more, and the right edge isn’t flush with the frame. The third drawer tilts down a little to the left, and its left edge isn’t flush. The bottom drawer hangs out to the left, too. It’s all … wonky. When I look at the uneven drawers, I imagine a snaggletooth jutting up from a bulldog’s crooked jaw.

looking down at uneven drawers

Somehow the whole cabinet not only warped on one side, but took on a slight helix twist. It was square when Eric cut and assembled the pieces. And the Caesarstone counter is square. Sigh … Eric will rebuild it (and I will paint it and polyurethane it). Again. But for now, I’m going to use it as is, snaggletooth and all, because I’m not sure when its replacement will appear. Maybe I will grow to love its goofy face … but I doubt it.

front view crocked drawers

Update: Mother Hubbard is recovering nicely from her cosmetic surgery, and is very eager to get out in public again. For now, she’s still curing, I mean healing, in seclusion. Soon, Mother H, soon! (Okay, truth be told, we’ve been a little distracted by our fantastic Seahawks and that incredible Super Bowl!)

From → Kitchen

7 Comments
  1. Oh no, those skinny drawers are so useful – I like your snaggle tooth description. :). We were distracted by the Seahawks Super Bowl too but it was really fun!

    • We’ve had a lot of things go right … I guess something was bound to go wrong eventually! But we’ll fix it!

  2. How odd that she turned out like that. You should call her the Twisted Sister.

    It’s funny how perspective changes everything. Around here everyone is referring to it as the Boring Bowl. I guess when you’re not rooting for your team a blowout isn’t very much fun.

    • Twisted Sister! I love it!!

      You are so right about the perspective on the Super Bowl. I could have watched that beautiful game for several more hours!! Here in Washington, we are still floating on air!

  3. Yay Seahawks! I’m originally from Renton, which I believe is a bit more on the map because of the Hawks training camp. Enjoy the celebrations! Cute drawers, sorry they snagged up on you! xxoo

    • Heh heh–we will whip that bad girl into shape! Right now she has fallen a bit down on the priority list! Do-overs aren’t so much fun. Still on a high for the Seahawks!

Don't be shy! Leave a comment--I'd love to hear from you!

