Skip to content

New Mother Hubbard

March 5, 2014

As usual, the process of bringing Old Mother Hubbard into the 21st Century took longer than I’d anticipated. When we left her in the middle of her extreme makeover, her doors were on the operating table being stripped of decades of old paint. I used three applications of stripper on each side, which took time. The insides of the doors had a different color-layering scheme than the exteriors, including this bright Chinese red, which was en vogue in the late 40s when the kitchen was remodeled.

stripping paint from cabinet doors

I made three of these Jasco “casseroles,” weighing over six pounds apiece.

aluminum tin of stripped paint

Sanding, priming, and painting also took more days than I hoped … you just can’t rush drying time. Because the interiors of our other cabinets are natural, I decided to polyurethane these, too, even though I was unable to pry all the old dead paint out of the joints. Call it character.

It had been quite a few weeks since I’d used the Benjamin Moore Glacier White paint. (I am impressed that one gallon has easily double-coated all the cabinets in our kitchen.) Imagine my horror when I opened the can and found THIS staring up at me:

mold on white paint

OMG, it’s alive!! It’s … mold. I have never had this happen to paint before. What the heck got in there?? Eric pulled on rubber gloves and scooped it out. De-molded, the paint seemed fine. It stroked on smoothly and I haven’t notice Mother H growing a fuzzy green coat. Yes, I used it! Stuff’s expensive, and I didn’t feel like driving to north Seattle for another gallon when I was so close to finishing.

While the doors were curing, I turned to Mother Hubbard’s innards. A purge was in order, and I could put it off no longer. Out came everything. Each piece had to show me its pull date before I would let it back in. I was a merciless gatekeeper—cute packaging could not melt my heart. I was searching for antique food … and I found plenty. Quite a few items came from Eric’s pantry before he moved in in 2007. Not including the Pleasoning (which, by the way, is still made in La Crosse, Wisconsin), the vintage food award went to … a box of Sunmaid raisins from 1998. Guess it pays to clean out you cupboards occasionally.

Some of my finds puzzled me. Besides white vinegar, I have red wine vinegar, blackberry vinegar, and rice vinegar, all unopened except for the white. And for someone who seldom bakes, here’s my collection of colored sugar and cake decorations. A lifetime supply! How did all this stuff get in my house? Eric … ?

colored sugar collection

At last I could get to Mother H’s insides. I thought that because she was already painted white inside, maybe I could get away with just washing her out and applying new linoleum liners to her shelves. HA! What an optimist I can be! I peeled the old linoleum off the shelves. This could be the house’s original lino because it goes (sort of) with the red and gray wallpaper I discovered when patching the walls.

gray and red original linoleum

Of course, you knew it would be nasty in there, didn’t you? Yup.

pantry shelf befpre cleaning and painting

middle shelf with contact paper

I washed the whole thing down with soap and water, but some of the stains wouldn’t budge, including a dreadful dark cascade of goo from long ago that ran from the top shelf clear to the middle one. I would have to paint, too. Dammit. My big time-saving trick was to use gloss white spray paint instead of a tedious brush. But within two squirts, the house was filled with obnoxious lacquer that us had us all gagging. So much for that idea. Oh, hand me the damned brush …

I spent a day with my head inside Mother Hubbard, painting all the nooks and crannies as best I could. Huge improvement, even though the dreadful stain, so impervious to soap and water, had no trouble softening and bleeding through three coats of paint. More character. I know many people would be grossed out by that stain, but living in a century-old home sometimes requires forgiveness—and the willingness to seal unmentionables under a new coat of paint. I’m dealing with the stain here by taking photos at an angle that doesn’t show it. And, now that the pantry’s full again, I can’t see it! Hey, problem solved!

painted and lined pantry shelves

Things really started to come together when Eric cut linoleum liners from spare material left over from our flooring job. I tossed my vintage turntables (bought back when avocado green was popular) and invested in some new ones, plus a set of riser steps for a choir of spices.

Finally, I reopened the Glacier White paint, donned the rubber gloves, scooped out yet another growth of pond scum, and painted her exterior. After a few more days of curing, Eric hung the doors. Are you ready? First, Old Mother Hubbard’s before photo.

floor-to-ceiling pantry cabinet

And now … ta-da!! See, Mother H, I told you that you’d look fabulous! Beautiful inside and out! Tall, glossy white, and lovely once again.

white painted pantry cabinet

finished pantry interior

close-up of pantry interior

I’m very proud that Mother Hubbard is the matriarch of our kitchen. Here’s to your second century, Mother H!

PS – Yes, the vintage shaker of Pleasoning made the cut … grandfathered in. It comes from a good family.

Pleasoning seasoning on a turntable

19132013new

 

From → Kitchen

11 Comments
  1. D’Arcy,
    I had to laugh, your Benjamin Moore paint had mold from only a few weeks but the raisins from 1998 didn’t? I think the pantry looks great. I have started purging my pantry more than I used to since the years fly by and something I have that I thought was purchased last year, will be dated 3 years ago!

    Guess you better make some butter cookies with royal icing and sprinkles, lots of sprinkles.
    xo,
    Karen

    • Haha–That is pretty ironic that 17-y-o raisins looked like … raisins! The sugar content preserves them, I suppose.

  2. Great minds think alike! I cannot believe that we both posted about cabinet organization on the same day. Of course, you did a lot more work than I!

    Mother Hubbard is looking damn sexy for an old lady. Job well done.

    • You gave me some new ideas about storage … like bins for grains. Anything to keep the old girl neat. If she weren’t nailed to the wall, she’d be dancing in the middle of the floor! 🙂

  3. Tom& Judy Huppert permalink

    Mother H looks great after you finished with her. At one time I lived in an old home and learned to not try to figure out what some gunks were. I looked at it as TMI. Were do you go from the kitchen?

  4. oooooo, PRETTY! She is rockin’ a new coat and some shiny accessories. Talk about an Extreme Makeover! Lots of work here, D’Arcy. All worth it and I know you’re so proud. Floor to ceiling storage makes me so jealous. 🙂 It must feel great to open that pantry every time you need something. A real treat! Great job.

    • Thanks, Stacey! I do love opening the pantry now–I can actually FIND things, and the things I find are all edible! The only thing is, Mother H looks so good that she makes the door next to her look shabby–which it is. I’m going to do the doors in the good weather so I can strip ’em outside!

  5. I never thought of risers for my spices, what a great idea! And I didn’t know about paint gunk, but leave it to you to scoop out and go on 🙂 And, as usual, this was a pleasure to read…

Don't be shy! Leave a comment--I'd love to hear from you!

