Skip to content

While you were watching the Super Bowl …

February 11, 2016

Is it un-American to ignore the Super Bowl? To be sure, I was a mere 12 feet away from the TV. I could hear it, but I ignored it for the most part. I ate my requisite portion of buffalo wings, but—OMG—I forgot to make the guacamole. What excuse do I have for such atrocious behavior on our national holy-day? I was painting.

Painting supplies covering fireplace hearth

I have not seen the hearth in weeks

After a two-week gap in progress, I finally had a day to splash some gray on the first wall! Along with that, of course, came plenty of white trim.

But first, a little cleaning was necessary. We’ve all had the experience of moving a large piece of furniture and recoiling in disgust at the detritus that was living beneath. I won’t gross you out with what I found when we moved the kleiderschrank. (You’re welcome.) Except for this piece:

dirty and corroded penny

Really?

It’s a penny. I didn’t keep it. This project is costing me $0.01 more than I thought.

I cut in the wall edges on Super Bowl Eve, working without a net, as usual. (As I’ve mentioned, I don’t normally tape, and I’m too lazy to fuss with a drop cloth). I forgot to take pictures. Because I painted the crown molding trim before I began ripping away the loose finish plaster, the edge of the molding showed rough old paint in places, and the white paint didn’t quite reach the edge. Poor planning on my part, but fixable with a bit of extra work. I love extra work.

I schmeared joint compound into the resulting gap and touched up both white and gray paint after it dried. Much better!

Joint compound fills crevice

Joint compound to the rescue again

The wall color (Sherwin Williams Jogging Path, which I had color-matched in Valspar Signature formula) covered the former brown paint beautifully. A second coat was necessary only to fill the holidays. This is the first time I’ve used an eggshell finish, and I’m happy with the results. Previously, I’d always used flat to downplay the irregularities in the old plaster walls. I like the eggshell effect. During the day it gives off a subtle shimmer, but at night it’s soft and velvety.

Second coat of gray paint going on lighter than first coat

Beginning the second coat. It dried a lot darker.

I wasn’t so cavalier about painting the base molding, however, because I need to be able to slop on the paint when it’s at floor level. Applying tape is annoying, but I don’t have a steady hand when working down that low. When Lacy bumped my arm, I wish I’d taped the top of the baseboard, too.

White paint smudge on gray paint

Thanks, Lacy.

TA DA–I have ONE wall painted! How do I describe this color? It’s a warm gray, yet it has greenish undertones. It shade-shifts dramatically in the light, from top to bottom and from corner to corner, which I love. In the light of day it looks much cooler, but at night it’s very warm and soft. I don’t know how this looks on your monitor, but think of lichen.

Gray wall with white trim

One down!

Now we can reassemble the kleiderschrank and reclaim some floor space in the library. Rose-kitty will be happy to have her private balcony back.

I have a ton of work to do to get the next wall ready for paint. I can’t wait until the entire living room/dining room/foyer are lit up with this new scheme. For now, I find myself wandering into the living room just to admire “the wall.” I’m lichen it. (Sorry, couldn’t stop myself.)

Bonus feature

Introducing Crosby!

Tuxedo kitten sitting on Oriental rug

Yes, we’ve adopted another kid! One evening just before Christmas, we came home to find a 6-month-old tuxedo kitten running around near our back door. He was terrified and wailing piteously, looking for shelter from the driving rain and 34° weather. I called to him, and he came right over—obviously he had been someone’s pet. I picked him up and carried him inside. He was soaking wet and shivering. After being toweled off and sitting with Checkers for a few minutes, he began confidently exploring the house.

For about five seconds we thought about taking him to the Humane Society, because he’d be adopted in a heartbeat. Instead, we bought him a collar and ID tag and had him neutered. We had to name him after someone with a big moustache, so we picked David Crosby (even though David’s moustache droops down, and our Crosby uses moustache wax to turn his up.)

Tuxedo kitten with big white moustache

I don’t know whose cat Crosby started out to be, but he has in-and-out privileges now, and he has chosen us. He’s living the dream—he loves his new mom and dad and kitty friends, and he adores Duke. He definitely keeps us entertained with his zany kitten antics and his two speeds: trouble and cuddle.

How do they find us? They just keep coming! The answer to your question is  … eight.

Green ginkgo leaf with 1913 - 2013 below it

From → Living Room

12 Comments
  1. Barbara H. permalink

    Love the cat story and the two speeds – they balance each other out, don’t they? I’m so glad your paint color is working out for you – it can be a scary thing to change but oh so energizing when it works out well. I’ve been reading you for quite a while – don’t remember how I found you. I’m a former Portlander (30 years!) who moved to beautiful NE Alabama to be close to family. Different culture, way too hot summers, but a beautiful place to live that reminds me somewhat of Oregon.

    • Barbara, thanks for reading my blog! I love Portland, but I think the heat in Alabama would do me in! I have never been there, though. We’ll come as close as I’ve ever been when we visit Florida this spring.

  2. First, and most importantly, congratulations on your new kid. Crosby looks charming and I love his mustache.
    The wall doesn’t look green on my monitor, but it looks fantastic and a taupe gray in color. I wish my “taupe” color would have turned out as pretty. Mine looks gray but not a gray with depth. If that makes sense.
    Happy Valentine’s Day.
    xo,
    Karen

    • Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too Karen! In person the wall doesn’t look taupey … and the green tint is very subtle. Whatever color it is, I like it!

  3. Tom and Judy permalink

    Love the new color. Crosby is a pretty cat. Tom loves black and white cats. I think he had one as a child that he was particularly close to. I’m sure Crosby thinks he has died and gone to heaven. lol

  4. Fabulous color!

  5. Welcome, Crosby! Cats aren’t dumb. They know where to find a good life! As for the wall, I’m lichen it too. 😉

  6. The new color looks great. How does it blend with the dining room wallpaper? Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

  7. We have a rescued tuxedo kitty named Michou who looks like he could be Crosby’s brother 🙂 He is 18 now being with us since 2001 and still going strong!! Wishing the same to you, handsome Crosby 🙂 Yes to the cat and to the color comb of your livingroom…it looks really great! Greetings from Spain!

    • Hi Angela! Good for Michou! I have yet to have a cat live that long, but I hope all of ours get there. Glad you like the new color–we like it a lot.

Don't be shy! Leave a comment--I'd love to hear from you!

